S-600-L SMT Line Layout Guide by Southern Machinery
The S-600-L full automatic SMT line from Southern Machinery combines a loader, SP-1008 screen printer, three buffer conveyors, a six-head pick and place, an S-8800 lead-free reflow oven and an unloader in roughly 14.5 m. This guide walks buyers through a layout-first selection framework, station-by-station source data, a parameter table, an example payback formula (illustrative, subject to final technical confirmation) and FAQs, so EMS and electronics teams can judge floor space, board envelope and line integration before requesting a quote for a complete SMT line with global service and training support.
Oct 29, 2026 · Updated Oct 29, 2026 · Southern Machinery

S-600-L SMT Line Layout Guide by Southern Machinery
What is the S-600-L SMT line? It is a full automatic SMT line from Southern Machinery that chains a PCB loader, automatic screen printer, buffer conveyors, the S-600-L pick and place, a lead-free reflow oven and an unloader into one roughly 14.5 m flow. It suits teams that need a compact, complete SMT line for boards up to 400 x 360 mm.

Why does an SMT line fail before the first board is placed?
Most buyers compare machines one by one. The line then fails at the gaps: a conveyor too short, a loader that does not match the printer, a floor plan that ignores the 5378 mm reflow oven. Quoting stations separately hides that risk.
You may recognise the pattern. Each datasheet looks fine, yet nobody owns the line as a single flow. Southern Machinery, founded in 2011 in Shenzhen and serving 237+ global customers, treats the line as the unit of purchase.
What is the layout-first framework for choosing a line?
Use three questions before you compare any parameter:
- Flow: does every station hand the board to the next through the same signal? The source lists SMEMA signal on the loader, buffer conveyors and unloader.
- Footprint: does the total length fit your floor? The source gives the line as 1400 + 1400 + 1000 + 1300 + 1000 + 5378 + 1000 + 1900 = 14378 mm, approx. 14.5 m.
- Board envelope: does the smallest station limit set the board size? Check the narrowest limit across all stations.
What is in the S-600-L line, station by station?
| Station | Model | Length (mm) | Key source data |
|---|---|---|---|
| PCB loader | SLD-330B | 1400 | PCB size 450330 (LW), SMEMA, net weight 180 KG |
| Auto screen printer | SP-1008 | 1400 | Printing accuracy ±0.025mm, repeat position ±0.01mm |
| Buffer conveyor (x3) | S-350C | 1000 each | PCB width 50-350mm, speed 0-10000mm/min |
| Pick and place | S-600-L | 1300 | 6 heads, 30 feeders, 25,000 CPH |
| Lead-free reflow oven | S-8800 | 5378 | 8 up/down heating zones + 2 cooling zones |
| PCB unloader | SULD-330B | 1900 | PCB size 450330 (LW), SMEMA, net weight 200 KG |
How does the printer and loader pair behave?
The SP-1008 uses CCD vision positioning, automatic stencil wiping (dry, wet, vacuum) and a cycle time under 9 s excluding printing and cleaning. Product changeover is listed as under 5 min. It accepts PCBs from 5050 mm up to 400310 mm.
What does the pick and place offer?
The S-600-L has six mounting heads and up to 30 feeders. The source states 25,000 CPH as its best-case speed for 0402 to 15 mm components, and also notes a real speed of 10,000-15,000 CPH. Plan capacity on the real-speed range, not the headline figure. Maximum PCB is 400 x 360 mm, thickness 0.5-3.0 mm.
What should you know about the reflow oven?
The S-8800 is a lead-free oven with PID closed-loop control, a built-in profiler with 4 thermocouples, and temperature deviation on PCB of ±1.5°C. Startup power is 30KW and normal consumption 9KW, on 3P 380V. Confirm utilities before installation.
Which selection parameters matter most?
| Parameter | Source value | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Max PCB (placement) | 400 x 360 mm | Limits product mix |
| Placement speed | 25,000 CPH; real 10,000-15,000 CPH | Capacity planning |
| Feeder capacity | 30 pcs | Setup flexibility |
| Reflow zones | 8 + 2 cooling | Profile control |
| Line length | approx. 14.5 m | Floor planning |
| Conveyor height | 900-920 mm (±20) | Station alignment |
Anything not listed, such as price or delivery time, is not specified in source — contact Southern Machinery to confirm.
How do you estimate the return on a line like this?
Use a simple formula and your own numbers:
Payback months = line investment / (monthly labour saved + monthly scrap cost avoided + monthly margin from added output)
Example only, depending on configuration and subject to final technical confirmation: with a hypothetical investment of 100 units and a combined monthly benefit of 10 units, payback is 10 months. These figures are illustrative, not a guarantee.
How does this line connect to the rest of your factory?
Add THT after reflow with the THT machine range or wave soldering, then board handling systems and 3D SPI/AOI inspection. Southern Machinery offers global service, spare parts support and professional training. Browse the source catalog at file.autoinsertion.com.
FAQ
What is the total length of the S-600-L SMT line? The source gives 14378 mm, approx. 14.5 m.
What PCB size can the pick and place handle? Max 400mm360mm, min 5050mm, thickness 0.5-3.0mm.
Is 25,000 CPH the real speed? The source lists 25,000 CPH as best speed and real speed as 10,000-15,000 CPH.
Which communication signal do the loader, conveyors and unloader use? SMEMA signal.
Does the line support lead-free soldering? The S-8800 reflow oven is described as complete for the lead-free process.
What is the price? Not specified in source — contact Southern Machinery to confirm.
What should you read next?
Next in this series: how to size a reel shelf and feeder storage around a compact SMT line. Bookmark this layout checklist and compare it with your floor plan.
Ready to review your line? Request a quote from Southern Machinery with your board size and daily output.
Comments